The village Velka Lomnica is located about 8 miles northeast of Poprad, just next to the main road to Kezmarok and Stara Lubovna. The first written mention of the village dates back to 1257, when it belonged among the advanced settlements of Spis and became the property of Rikolfa, the founder of the family of the lords of Lomnica. In the village is the original Roman Catholic church dedicated to St. Catherine of Alexandria from the late 13th century. In the 15th century it was rebuilt in the Gothic style and harbors unique wall murals. They were discovered as late as 1957. They are located in the sacristy of the church and include the legend of the victory of King St. Ladislav in 1093 over Kuman (King Ladislav ruled from 1077-1095 and in 1198 was declared a saint). The paintings date from 1310 to 1320. The only entrance to the church today is located in the tower. During the restoation of the church, it was found that the church originally had three entrances. One for the residents of the village, one in the tower and a special entrance which only the memebers of the Berzevitzy family were allowed to use. Inside the church there are three altars, the oldest of which dates to 1793. Behind him is a double-walled Gothic window bricked in from the outside and a baptismal font from the 16th century.
GPS: 49°06’41.3″N 20°21’39.9″E
Zobraziť Veľká Lomnica, rímskokatolícky kostol z 13. stor. na väčšej mape